Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
January 23, 2018, 07:01:14 AM
Home Help Login Register
News: In order for you to be able to post a new thread in the "For Sale" board, you need at least 10 posts in the rest of the forum, however you'll be able to reply to any topic in the forum even if you dont have the 10 post count. Any posts in the "For Sale" board will not appear in your total post counter.

Any ads, should be posted in the "For Sale" or "Looking to Buy" forums ONLY, and they should be MCI or MCI-related. Please do not advertise your item on someone else's thread (hijack).

If you have any questions, feel free to contact me.

Thanks!

Dualflip

+  MCI Console and Tape Machine Forum
|-+  Misc. Rare Hard to Find models, custom projects, racked channels, smpte sync
| |-+  Miscellaneous
| | |-+  Light Meter System EL Strips
« previous next »
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 Print
Author Topic: Light Meter System EL Strips  (Read 15920 times)
Westrek
MCI Freak!
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 833


HI/LO Discreet Op Amp


WWW
« Reply #15 on: January 16, 2012, 09:37:16 PM »

Moving along nicely now. I believe I've worked through the learning curve.

Did the first 8-channel I/O vertical scale panel today. Only 4 more to go!

Here's a before and after:

Mike
Logged
kakumei47
MCI Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 391



WWW
« Reply #16 on: January 17, 2012, 11:25:10 AM »

Wow. Clean work...looks great. What color light tape did you get?

Can't wait to see how this looks when you're done! I want to do this too, but it'll have to wait until I get my meters working right and clean up my last couple problem channels.

Logged

MCI JH528c
Dualflip
Administrator
MCI Freak!
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1249



« Reply #17 on: January 17, 2012, 12:11:41 PM »

Very nice work Mike!

I dont want to abuse, but can you provide model # of the materials you needed so we can probably order everything we need from lighttape.com?
Logged

I love MCI!
Westrek
MCI Freak!
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 833


HI/LO Discreet Op Amp


WWW
« Reply #18 on: January 17, 2012, 12:28:41 PM »

I was going to do that anyway. You would, of course, need either more or less tape and connectors depending on the frame size of your console.

Here's the list:

Mike
« Last Edit: January 17, 2012, 12:30:22 PM by Westrek » Logged
Dualflip
Administrator
MCI Freak!
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1249



« Reply #19 on: January 18, 2012, 12:32:23 AM »

Thanks for that!!!

I noticed that you ordered a power supply, does that mean you bypassed the one on the MCI PSU?
Logged

I love MCI!
Westrek
MCI Freak!
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 833


HI/LO Discreet Op Amp


WWW
« Reply #20 on: January 18, 2012, 07:07:42 AM »

These strips run on 220vac instead of the 110vac supplied by the MCI supply. I plan to connect it so it can be switched off when the console is not in use.

The strips light with 110 but they're not bright enough.

I should be done with this project within a week and I'll report back.

Mike
« Last Edit: January 18, 2012, 09:21:25 AM by Westrek » Logged
Westrek
MCI Freak!
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 833


HI/LO Discreet Op Amp


WWW
« Reply #21 on: January 21, 2012, 06:25:29 PM »

Here's an update:

Just about have all the EL strips installed.

I'm not so sure that the power supply I purchased from Lighttape is going to work in this application.

It's very sensitive to shorts (good) but also trips off when there is any open circuits. I'm not sure if it is going to trip off when switching from peak to vu because of the relays involved.

More later.

Mike
Logged
Dualflip
Administrator
MCI Freak!
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1249



« Reply #22 on: January 22, 2012, 05:36:53 AM »

Thanks for the update Mike, keep us posted.

In the meantime, we can discuss other options, something like this may work http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/International-Power/IHB250-01/?qs=0xCm9DOQnC5apaiylMDitA%3d%3d

do you happen to know the power consumption of the strips? this one supplies 0.1Amp @215V  to 265V
« Last Edit: January 22, 2012, 05:45:18 AM by Dualflip » Logged

I love MCI!
Tristan.Miller
MCI Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 390


I Fix Stuff


WWW
« Reply #23 on: January 22, 2012, 08:25:16 AM »

That one also supplies DC I believe...  Not too good for this application I'm assuming...
Logged

-Tristan
(Catherinenorth.com)
brianroth
MCI Master
MCI Freak!
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 960



« Reply #24 on: January 22, 2012, 09:05:29 PM »

Indeed, EL strips run from AC.  Why not use a 120 to 240 VAC step up transformer?

Bri

Logged

Professional audio and video systems design/construction/service/common sense.

Now based in Salina, Kansas

http://www.BrianRoth.com
Westrek
MCI Freak!
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 833


HI/LO Discreet Op Amp


WWW
« Reply #25 on: January 22, 2012, 09:56:26 PM »

Yes, I may do just that if this ballast doesn't work out.

Mike
Logged
Dualflip
Administrator
MCI Freak!
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1249



« Reply #26 on: January 22, 2012, 10:22:17 PM »

Indeed, EL strips run from AC.  Why not use a 120 to 240 VAC step up transformer?

Bri



Good idea, in fact a cheap Radio shack 110 to 220 inverter could work!

I must add, that most step up 110 to 220 V  transformers i know are the typical "plate and filament" transformers, which could work, although i dont know if the transformer will be confortable if the filament stays disconnected....
« Last Edit: January 23, 2012, 02:05:20 AM by Dualflip » Logged

I love MCI!
Tristan.Miller
MCI Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 390


I Fix Stuff


WWW
« Reply #27 on: January 23, 2012, 02:11:14 AM »

Filament, as in the 6.3vac heaters?

You should be fine running a transformer, without using that winding.... =)
Logged

-Tristan
(Catherinenorth.com)
brianroth
MCI Master
MCI Freak!
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 960



« Reply #28 on: January 23, 2012, 04:49:21 PM »

I'd have to poke around in the various catalogs (Mouser, DigiKey, Allied, etc), but I have seen 120 to 240 step up transformers in the catalogs, without any additional windings.

This reminds me a trick if you have a pair of transformers, both with dual 120/240 "strapable" primaries.  I had a pair of 120/240 to 12 VAC transfos on the shelf.  I wired them so that the 12V secondaries of each were connected, fed 120V into the first, then grabbed the 240V from the second one (wired backwards).

IOW:  120 -> 12 -> 12 -> 240

Bri

Logged

Professional audio and video systems design/construction/service/common sense.

Now based in Salina, Kansas

http://www.BrianRoth.com
Dualflip
Administrator
MCI Freak!
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1249



« Reply #29 on: January 24, 2012, 01:23:51 AM »

Bri, thats a great idea.

PS Most of the transformers ive seen on mouser without any aditional windings are marked as out of stock, although i must reckon i havent searched carefully...
Logged

I love MCI!
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!